March 2018 Yarn Crush

Well, it’s April, but this box did come in March…I’ve just been busy. Another new dyer for me, and the color is soooo right up my alley, I mean pinks and reds are my favorites…

20180327_193528_medium

In this month’s box we received:

  • One skein of Essence of Autumn Willow in one of three colors, I received a gorgeous pink/red in my box. My phone camera doesn’t do this yarn justice, it’s got a lovely sheen to it.
  • A nostepinne…which looks like a stick, or a simple wand. In a way it is like a wand, but really it’s a tool to wind yarn into a center pull ball/skein if you do not have a ball winder. I’ve never used one before, but I’m excited to give it a try.
  • Morning Sun Fingerless Mitts by ACCROchet, (crochet pattern) in print, and a unique download code for use on Ravelry – easy pattern
  • Deep Water Fingerless Mitts by ACCROchet, (crochet pattern) in print, and a unique download code for use on Ravelry – intermediate pattern
  • Downtown Headband by Gabrielle Vezina, (knitting pattern) in print and a unique download code for use on Ravelry – easy pattern
  • Dogleg Hat by Gabrielle Vezina, (knitting pattern) in print and a unique download code for use on Ravelry – intermediate pattern

 

I’m in love with the idea of the nostepinne, however I don’t think I’ll be giving up my ball winder any time soon. But, I do think I’ll keep the nostepinne in my knitting travel bag, for those instances when I am traveling, buy yarn, and want to use it immediately…assuming I don’t have the store where I purchase said yarn wind it for  me….but at least the nostepinne would be far more convenient that just winding the yarn into a ball. This one is made by ChiaoGoo, so a very well known and respected brand. and the card does give you some instruction on how to get started with it. (There’s also loads of videos on YouTube if you’re interested.)

20180327_193630_medium2

Now for the yarn…

20180327_193609_medium220180327_193553_medium2

Essence of Autumn Willow is considered a DK weight yarn put up into 275 yard, 113 gram/4oz skeins. The yarn is a single ply 60% Merino, 20% Silk, 20% Alpaca blend so it is soft, but still has some sheen and rawness that I do enjoy. The dyer included a sheet with lots of great information as well.

If you like what you see and are interested in signing up for a version of this Yarn Club yourself please check out my unique referral link here.

What would you make with this yarn? My current plan is actually use the Intermediate Crochet patter for the fingerless gloves using the star stitch. Even though I love pretty much every shade of pink and red, I did send this skein off to another club member in exchange for their cool colorway because my winter coat is blue and grey…so the cool colorway will by far go better with it. (That and everyone should get what they want…and the person I swapped with liked the warm and neutral options better than the cool they received.)

~~

Happy stitching everyone!

Leave a comment